Customer Reviews for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CCS.

Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's

Mike Carroll strikes again with another design and doesn't disappoint. Built for the once Skater of the Year from Thrasher Magazine, the Lakai Carroll 5 is capable of handling the most hardcore boarding sessions. The suede and leather upper provides both durability and style. The upper also has form-fitting properties, to give you a great connection with your board. Flexible vulcanized construction. Tacky gum rubber outsole. Molded PU shock absorbing insole.
Average Customer Rating:
3.567 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
20 out of 30(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Review 1 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty decent shoe

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
TheRabidCupcake
from Watertown, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Skated these shoes for about 3 weeks. and in those 3 weeks i beat the heck out of them. Held up well to heavy skating, but eventually blew out in the ollie and kickflip spots. Went through 3 laces though.
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, stylish, runs true to size, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor ankle support, rips easy, poor cushioning, laces break easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

They're alright, decent shoe

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
sumaznboi
from duh china town
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
Skated mine for about 1-2 weeks so far. and broke them in a day or two. Saw alot of people saying that the two piece toe cap blew out easy so i super glued my stitching, and it's holding up
Pros : Alot of rubber for flicking, durable, lakai logo on bottom helps with primo, grippy sole, red heel bruise support helps with landing, breathable, lakai logo doesn't peel or fall off, comfy leather
Cons: its a long shoe..., suede seems to rip a bit fast, no ankle support, heel collar blows out quick, laces rip easily
overall i'd say its around a 7/10 more on the average side
wouldn't recommend for heavy skating though
Pros: sole keeps grip a long time, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning
Cons: poor ankle support, rips easy, runs large, laces break easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not Bad

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
DowySK8
from Perth WA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I liked the shoe very much. Good grip but the only problem is that the 2 piece toecap ripped in the matter of 1 week. I only skated them for 1 month. Good but if want long lasting shoes maybe go for a different pair. I recommend the Emerica G Codes!
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, runs true to size, comfortable, good grip, laces don't break
Cons: rips easy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The shoes are alright

PostedMay 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thunder416
from Carlsbad, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
They rip pretty quick. It has good board feel and good grip. It kind of has poor impact support. It kind of protects your shoe laces.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, comfortable, good grip, laces don't break
Cons: rips easy, poor cushioning, laces break easily, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Comfy

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
yosh89
from spanaway wa
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes were good they lasted me about a month the toe cap ripped on the first weak but that's nothing shoe goo cant fix, their super comfortable the shoe feels like a glove on your foot and overall I recommend these shoes if your just going to chill and do a little bit of skating because they will blow out quickly especially in the soles but with all that said you cant go wrong Mike Carroll is the man he designed an all round good skate shoes.
Durability = 7.5
Comfort =10
grip=10
Grip durability=7.5
board feel=10
style = 10 the ladies love them
overall = Just buy them .
Pros: good board feel, stylish, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Eh

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Come2GETHER
from Chicago, Il
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The shoes were amazing, at least for my first two sessions. After that a hole hit the ollie area and my disappointment makes me weary of buying another Lakai product.
Pros: sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, runs true to size, comfortable, laces don't break
Cons: poor ankle support, rips easy, poor board feel, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great shoe

PostedMarch 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
gzd97lude
from Philly
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes are awesome great fit and style
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Awsome low top shoe!

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Emerson7
from Pittsburgh
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Great for chilin or skating.awsome perormance, grip and feel.
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, good cushioning, comfortable, good grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet Shoe

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ctfree96
from Lakewood Ranch, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
looks good and breaks in quickly
Pros: looks great, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor board feel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
BigMac
from NC
Great grip and feeling too it. It's stylish and goes well with my clothes. When I first bought them they gave my foot a hard time the first day. But the next they were so comfortable I wear them all the time now. They have a great feel when skating and aren't too flexible and are light. The only real problem is that the seam that goes all the way around the front of the shoes rips way too easily on the side.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, good board feel, stylish, comfortable, good grip
Cons: rips easy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
SkaterKidDV97
from Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lakai has always been my favorite shoes to shred in! I love Lakai cause it has a really great board feel but only bad thing is that the Lakai that I had, I had for about a month and it already ripped. Other than that, Lakai are my favorite shoes espicially the Carroll's and the Manchester Selects
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, comfortable, good grip
Cons: rips easy, laces break easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
ecough
from michgan
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i love this shoe! i always liked Lakai and the Manchester is what i usually skate. But i like skating in the Carroll even more now that I've tried it!
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, comfortable, good grip
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall shoe.

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
SkateVt802
from Burlington, VT
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I find that it is very hard to do kickflips and hardflips because the shoe does not catch well on the board. it if fine for other tricks such as heelflips. it has great board feel, but not alot of cushioning. i was skating a ledge and i didnt land on my board and the impact of that one foot drop was not cushioned.
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor ankle support, poor cushioning, bad flick
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent shoe

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
johnny1
from new york
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
They were very comfortable and didnt need to be broken in but got my first hole in the side in around a week
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, stylish, good cushioning, comfortable
Cons: rips easy, soles wear out, laces break easily, non-durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the most comfy shoes you can buy

PostedJune 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fgrav1
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I first got these shoes I was super hyped about how comfy and flexible they were. They look awesome to and have pretty good cushioning with the equa form technology under the insole. The only bad thing about this shoe is that it rips a bit with all the panels but its still a great shoe to skate in.
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, stylish, good cushioning, comfortable, good grip
Cons: rips easy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

These shoes are nice

PostedMay 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Atoe
from Ramstein, Germany
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are good looking and great if you are looking for a pair of casual shoes. In skating terms the laces are good they don't rip very easily. The shoe doesn't very easily they are very well constructed and good for skating.
Pros: breaks in easy, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, laces don't break, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor ankle support, sole loses grip, soles wear out
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good shoe

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
TheGreatOne
from LA, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I just bought the Black and cyan pair. Soles seem to last longer and the suede is better. It seems like Lakai has made some changes for the better, as this pair feels noticeably better than the last pair i bought last year. Broke in pretty quickly too, and felt great out of the box. Only thing I'd say semi-negative is the low heal can slip, but i just laced them up a bit tighter and that stopped that.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, durable, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor ankle support, not enough colors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad soles

PostedMay 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
angus
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The soles on the shoes wore down really quick, after the second skate in these shoes before I'd even worn them in the grip was already worn flat in the front toe area of the sole and had lost most of it's grip. The upper of the shoe held pretty well but after about 10 hours skating I'd worn holes in the sole. They were also low around the heels and I had to tie them up tight to keep them fitting well.
Pros: stylish
Cons: poor ankle support, sole loses grip, soles wear out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedApril 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
deano593
from Brisbane, australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Loved the shoes and have had them before. But unfortunately the first time i wore them to the skate park the sole of one of the shoes split right along the length of the logo on the bottom of the shoe. Must be faulty :(
Pros: good cushioning, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lakai Carroll 5 - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable, but large

PostedApril 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lakeu
from los angeles
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I usually wear size 8.5 Nike Dunks and Vans, and the size 8.5 in these were too big! They feel like 9s Vans. Aside from that, I decided to lace them up a little tighter and skate them nevertheless.
I haven't skated with this much, but with my time with it so far, I really like it! Great lowcut shape, with nice moderate padding. Love the insole. One of the more comfortable shoe I've owned. The ankle is low, so heel slips out once in a while, but I think it'll be better once it's more broken in.
Overall, great shoes, real grippy, and the toe looks like it'll last a good amount.
Pros: looks great, stylish, good cushioning, comfortable
Cons: poor ankle support, long, big
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>