Customer Reviews for Emerica The Westgate - Men's

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at CCS.

Emerica The Westgate - Men's

The Brandon Westgate Pro Model is here and features everything you need to rep that unmatched East Coast style: A suede/leather upper and a mid-top profile. This shoe also provides ideal comfort with a midsole combination that features STI Foam™ Lite level 2 footbed, and System G2™ heel cushioning. Other features include a triple stitched reinforced toe, padded tongue & collar for premium comfort, and a vulcanized construction. “It’s kind of like the Jerry’s, but has a little bit more going on with it. They fixed the vulcanized sole so the suede goes down further and the vulcanized area goes up so it won’t pull apart at the heels. It’s kind of like a basic mid-top. I always liked mid-tops that were vulcanized. So it’ll have that. Plus, they’ve got this new insole that’s in it that’s really soft and cushiony that I’m really stoked on. I’m really stoked on them, they’re really awesome.” - Brandon Westgate
Average Customer Rating:
4.362 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
5 stars
38
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
62 out of 69(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Review 1 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

There are better skate shoes out there.

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pocatello, ID
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This shoe looks good (like a half cab ), but did not skate well. The shoe is very heavy and even though it has a vulc sole, it took a very long time to break in. It has a built in foam insole that provides no arch support at all, and since you can't remove it your shoes are too tight if you add your own insole. Very poorly designed shoe.
Pros: cool colors, stylish, good ankle support
Cons: sole loses grip, uncomfortable, poor cushioning, does not break in quickly, poor board feel
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

extremely disappointed.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Texas
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I purchased these shoes a few months back and had them just sitting under my bed waiting in line (I usually try to keep at least 1 pair of shoes on deck). When I finally got around to skating these I was/am extremely disappointed. I don't ever leave reviews, but I just felt the need to this time. I've skated maybe a total of 15-20 hours in these and the toe already has a tear exposing my sock. I've never skated a shoe that degraded so quickly as these. I've also had a problem with the tongue on these shoes, it's too thick and makes the shoe lace up weird. Overall not a great shoe in my opinion, would not buy again or recommend to friends.
Pros: cool colors, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: rips easy, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Shoes

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Sarasota, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I usually skate lakai and nike SB low cut shoes but I haven't had much trouble with these. The one thing I will say against them is that the bottom of the shoe is a good bit thicker than my lakai Manchester selects. For some that's probably a good thing but I like to feel my board the most I can.
Pros: long lasting soles, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break
Cons: does not break in quickly, poor board feel
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome!

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Blanding, UT
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes have amazing grip,last long, and have good board feel.
Pros: looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pittsfield, NH
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
didnt even know westgate came out with shoes but these are awsome buy them
Pros: breaks in easy, sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really good for beginners

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Gerrardstown, WV
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
These are great, good grip to board and comfortable.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, stylish, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, laces don't break
Cons: rips easy, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent shoe, ultimate comfort

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Valley Mills, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Great grip, great board feel. The padding inside makes these things are so comfy landing primo didn't bother my feet. They look sick and didn't take me but 2 days to break in. The stitching did come apart kinda quick but definitely a must get shoe. I'm gonna buy a second pair for sure!
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Shoe!!

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Ballard,WV
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Amazing shoes! They have excellent padding in the sole and around the ankles, however they still have great boardfeel too! I feel like I could jump down a six set but can also feel tricks just as good as other vulcanized s hoes! The first day I got 'em it felt like they were already broken in! Also they are really tough too mine have lasted quite awhile! Plus they pretty sweet too!
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs Longer Shoe Laces

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Silver Spring, MD
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I loved unboxing the shoes but when I laced them I could of gone for a little more strands. They fit confortably and smell great!
Pros: long lasting soles, looks great, stylish, durable, comfortable, good cushioning
Cons: poor ankle support, runs narrow, poor grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
from RI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I really liked this shoe. It had a factory defect where the toe ripped on the first day. it broke my heart, but i have a new pair coming in now.
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These are the best shoes I've had so far

PostedMay 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Texas,TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
They are pretty durable and very stylish and the cushion is good... they just feel great on your foot
Pros: looks great, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break
Cons: runs wide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Huntsville, AL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
good board feel, grip, and padding
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

these emericas are comfortable!

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from patterson ca
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
the westgates are very comfortable and stylish but the dont last long for skateboarding so i wouldn't really recommend them if you skateboard because im a skateboarder and they only lasted me a week and a half.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, comfortable, good cushioning, good ankle support
Cons: sole loses grip, rips easy, laces break easily, non-durable
 
My product recommendations
Nike SB Dunk Low Pro - Men's
4.5 out of 5(201)
 
 
 
Nike SB Blazer Hi - Men's
4.5 out of 5(85)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good shoe.

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Mobile, AL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Comfortable shoe, suede is pretty durable, and good board feel. Not the perfect shoe but it was pretty good.
Pros: good board feel, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, good grip, good ankle support
Cons: laces break easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nothing special

PostedApril 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Pennsylvania
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I started skating these about 3 weeks ago and the toe cap is completely torn apart that I can fit my fist through it. The tongue of the shoe ripped completely off out of nowhere. The only thing I loved about these shoes are the comfort they give. It literally feels like pillows hugging your ankles. So, if you're looking for comfortable shoes then these are them. If you skateboard almost every day, I'd suggest getting other shoes. Preferably the Reynold's 3.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, comfortable, good grip
Cons: sole loses grip, rips easy, non-durable, tongue rips off when tugged
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product is built well

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Bennington Vermont
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The emerica westgate shoes are one the the best shoes I have ever bought. The great cushion In the sole is great. The mid style shoes gives good ankle support. All around great shoe.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SHOE!

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
from North Carolina
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Great shoes!!! skate awesome, not too grippy at all but just enough to get the job done. I skated them with brand new grip on my board and they skated perfectly and arent wearing too quickly. BUY THIS SHOE! im ordering another pair for sure. Lots of compliments on them as well. Emerica wins again :)
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, comfortable, good grip
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe, comfortable, stylish

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Milton, DE
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It fits great especially with my wider foot. Great for when you have to bail from a high place. Falls get absorbed and the padding makes your feet feel good no matter what you're doing. Also these have great board feel and are extremely stylish.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: rips easy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good vulc shoes

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Illinois
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The shoes were flexible, had great cushioning, pretty durable, ankle support was good too but kind of heavy.
Pros: good board feel, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, comfortable, flexible
Cons: heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emerica The Westgate - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE skate shoe to buy.

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Long Island, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Ever since I broke my ankle I've needed a shoe that could give me great ankle support. Always being a supporter of Emerica I bought a pair of Westgate's. The second you put your foot into them it literally feels like you are walking on pillows. I was able to use them for 7 months while skateboarding hard everyday. The grip is perfect and it doesn't ware out fast. And the shoes don't ware out until the 4-5th month. Once I hit 7 months I started to get a small hole after flicking it so many times. I've bought 3 more pairs since and HIGHly recommend them. They fit true to size. They are the comfiest shoes you will skateboard in and they look good too.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: laces break easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>