Customer Reviews for Emerica The Hsu - Men's

Emerica The Hsu - Men's

As the signature model for Jerry Hsu, you know this kick has a lot of hype to answer to. But fear not, the Emerica The Hsu is built to last through the most intense skate sessions. The suede/canvas upper provides great durability, as well as enough style to keep you lookin’ fly. The flexible vulcanized 400 NBS gum rubber outsole will make your life on the board a whole lot easier. Triple-stitched toecap.
Average Customer Rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(127 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
5 stars
87
4 stars
32
3 stars
7
2 stars
0
1 star
1
124 out of 127(98%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Review 1 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe!!

PostedJune 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
BMXson
from Southern Maine
I purchased this product for:my child
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
My son loves these shoes. They have lasted a long time and he's still wearing them.
Pros: breaks in easy, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, doesn't rip, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break
Cons: soles wear out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gooooood

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
drwham66
from Huntsville, AL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
good padding, good grip, good board feel. typical emerica shoe! siiiiick!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One of my all-time favorites

PostedMay 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Buckwheat
from Amarillo, Tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:collegiate/pro
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
This shoe is an overall great shoe. The mid-top ankle support was great, i never rolled my ankles, and when my board hit my ankles it didn't hurt. This vulcanized shoe has good boardfeel while also providing good impact protection. The grip lasted a substantial amount longer than the grip of many other shoes. I had no problems with the shoe other than the laces breaking.
Pros: long lasting soles, sole keeps grip a long time, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Comfortable and Skates Good

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
TheEnjoiPanda
from Grand Forks, ND
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Feels great, and didn't really get any bruising while skating them. The toe wore out before the sole did for me, which is fairly unusual. After glueing the toe, the sole went out fairly shortly after. Great shoes, would be much better without the thread at the toe.
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, runs true to size, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
Cons: rips easy, soles wear out
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sprained my ankle.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cryker12
from Murray, KY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
The shoes felt great. They're comfortable and all that, but I skated them for a few hours after they came to my house and sure enough I sprained my ankle pretty good. Besides all that these are some great shoes, they just don't give much ankle support.
Pros: looks great, good board feel, stylish, durable, good cushioning, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor ankle support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from New York, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had 3 pairs of this in the past 5 years, one of my favorite skate shoes ever. the only thing i don't like is that a few years ago Jerry's face was printed on the insole, which was kinda cool, now it isn't. Other than that great shoes.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, comfortable, good grip
Cons: no jerry face!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
wesley1998ray
from Munford, TN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
3 / 5
3 / 5
By far the best skate shoes ive owned
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good ankle support, laces don't break, comfortable
Cons: sole loses grip, poor grip, poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

ok

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
teeters12
from Florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This shoe is kind of comfortable but its a good shoe overall. Great ankle support. This and the westgates are very similar in the way that they skate.
Pros: good board feel, good cushioning, good ankle support, comfortable
Cons: soles wear out, laces break easily, non-durable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Flick, Breaks In Easy

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
cwhite870
from Bastrop, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These were a typical average shoe to me. Nothing stood out it felt like any other emerica shoe. I was really upset too because I was so hyped when the shoe came out I bought it and wasn't too impressed with it. The soles ripped fast and the STI fusion wasn't as good as some other shoes I have owned with it. Overall it wasn't real bad but wasn't to good.
Pros: looks great, good board feel, good cushioning, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor ankle support, sole loses grip, rips easy, soles wear out, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for skating

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
LoganC
from NE
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
These shoes are great for skating and look sweet! I got mine when they were on sale and were well worth it. I got them over a year ago and they are in great shape.
Pros: looks great, good board feel, cool colors, comfortable
Cons: poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
FlipRider12
from Fernley,NV
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes are flexible, light, comfortable, and most of all durable
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, comfortable, good grip
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best.

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michaelll
from STL
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes are great in almost every way, though they do lack somewhat in foot protection, which can really be a pain on large stair sets and etc, but otherwise, these are an amazing pair of shoes to pick up.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: not enough colors, poor cushioning
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

comfy and good feel

PostedMay 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
ENRMO
from federal way WA.
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
this shoe brakes in right away and feels really good the only bad thing about this shoe is that it rips really fast compared to most of the other brands. but if you have the money fo buy a pair of skate shoes after skating them for about 2 to 3 weeks then go ahead cuz it is a good shoe.
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, good cushioning, good ankle support, comfortable, good grip
Cons: sole loses grip, rips easy, soles wear out, laces break easily, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT SHOE

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
enjoiLife198
from Berwyn Heights,MD
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Lasted for a long time. Broke them in in about an hour of skating. SUPERB grip,AWESOME flick,UBER comfy,LAST long,PROTECT your ankles,GREAT boardfeel. Grip lasts until they're almost dead. They lasted so long because they had a couple layers on the toe cap AND first layer was very STRONG! STI is pretty strong to,doesn't hurt my feet. PLUS they look GREAT!! So you can skate them (which is hard to wanna do) OR wear them for going out or school shoes. SHOULD BUY TWO PAIRS,I LOVED THEM YOU WILL TOO!!!
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip, doesn't rip fast
Cons: laces break easily, not enough colors
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this shoe is the best good job j hsu

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
17lucask8
from atl
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shoe is the best skate shoe i have ever had
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip, its so comfy its like your wareing slipers
Cons: poor ankle support, soles wear out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

IM STOKED ON THESE!

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
skateerbro1234
from RI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I just got the hsus just about a month ago and they are sooo amazing! i never get heel bruises with its mid top form and it doesnt sacrifice boardfeel. the suede rips a little but its not really bad. the laces are holding up decent, the sti cushioning is great for hours of skating. these also look pretty fresh too! these are awesome shoes. I would reccommend them.
Pros: looks great, good board feel, stylish, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time
Cons: rips easy, not enough colors, does not break in quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Triple stiche toe area

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
SJ4life
from San Jose, CA 95122
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
It a good shoe for skate parks or if you do flip in flip out tricks...i recommend this shoe..sti foam is very comfortable but if you do drop this shoe wont take the abuse more advanced(Prod.V or Sheckler 5)..it has alright ankle support for when board comes around and hits you on those tricks you don't stick
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, good cushioning, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor ankle support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my favorite shoes

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
xcoookx
from NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I bought a second pair of this shoes before my first pair even wore down because they're that good
Pros: long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, comfortable, good grip
Cons: laces break easily, does not break in quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long Lasting

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Scullz
I still have my pair of red Hsu's that i bought in May. I skated all summer and they are still comfortable and haven't ripped through. The soles are still good and the laces haven't ripped yet because of the double tab thing on the last lace section. I'd buy another pair, but i like change.
Pros: long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good ankle support, laces don't break, comfortable, sexy
Cons: does not break in quickly
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Emerica The Hsu - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent Shoe

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
nsosure
from tri cities, MI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought the navy color way and mine look black until compared to a real black shoe. They have pretty good board feel and good ankle support. Lots of padding in the upper area. I do more heelflips than kickflips so my shoes tend to last longer. Only an ollie patch and some normal wear down showing. Only bad part is the sole gets bald some what fast. I also find a lot of the padding in the sole gets stomped down easy as well. Over all still a decent shoe.
Pros: looks great, good board feel, durable, good ankle support, laces don't break
Cons: uncomfortable, soles wear out, does not break in quickly
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>