Customer Reviews for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's

Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's

It's hard to believe that Steve Caballero's legendary Half Cab has been around since '91. The legacy of this perfect shoe continues to this day. The premium leather upper provides an unmatched style, while the outsole rocks an OG board feel with waffle sole vulcanized construction. Drop in PU misole.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(43 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
40 out of 43(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Review 1 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everything but the tongue

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
from MassHole
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
I went with the Pro after hearing good things about them. I was not disappointed, initially. After a few days of wearing them to break them in, I noticed that the tongue was kind of digging into the tops of my feet. Figured that would go away - it did not. They came pre laced so I hadn't noticed that there is no slot in the middle of the tongue to route laces through and keep the tongue where it should be. I've been wearing them about a week and have yet to skate in them. The construction otherwise is outstanding, they are super comfy (other than the tongue which I hope breaks in) and they are on par in quality as my made in USA old school Half Cabs that I still have from '89.
Pros: long lasting soles, looks great, cool colors, doesn't rip, durable, comfortable, good cushioning, good ankle support
Cons: uncomfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the all time great skate shoes

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
from Pocatello, ID
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Half cabs are one of the greatest skate shoes ever made. The pro version has a removable insole that is much better than the original footbed. They are extremely durable and last a very long time. They take a little while to break in because the upper is a bit thicker than some of the modern skate shoes, but once you break them in, they feel great.
Pros: long lasting soles, looks great, sole keeps grip a long time, good board feel, stylish, runs true to size, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
Cons: does not break in quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Look great, but don't last.

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Boston
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes look really nice, and are really comfortable - especially after wearing in. They have nice board feel. But the sole does NOT last long. I keep reading people saying the sole lasts a long time... that is BS. I've had these for 3 weeks skating 3-4 times a week, and the sole has a hole through the big toe on both shoes already. I'm 75kg (165 lbs), so I'm not a super heavy guy, but probably heavier than all of the kids who have reviewed this shoe.
The stitching has torn apart in 3 places on one shoe and 2 on the other, I do wear my shoes pretty tight when I skate though. It's nothing shoe goo can't fix.
In summation;
They look great, are nice and comfortable with a perfect amount of padding to the point where they don't look like the fat and ugly DC's. The sole on the front half of the shoe is very thin. I would recommend these for casual skaters who skate 1-2 times a week, and like to wear them during the day. I don't recommend them for people skating 4+ times a week. Let's face it, Vans are not really a skate shoe company, they are a fashion shoe company. They make stuff that lots of kids like to wear, but when it comes to proper skate shoes - leave it to the dedicated skate shoe companies.
Pros: looks great, good board feel, stylish, runs true to size, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
Cons: sole loses grip, runs narrow, rips easy, soles wear out, laces break easily, non-durable
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my favorite skate shoes

PostedMay 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from wakefield, rhode island
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
i have had 3 pairs of these and they are one of my favorite skate shoes ever. these last a long time and they have good board feel and ankle support. if you are thinking about buying these just get them its worth it.
Pros: stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
Cons: laces break easily
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

vans

PostedMay 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Michigan, MI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
amazing shoes
although they wear out fast they are very good skate shoes
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, runs true to size, comfortable, good grip, good cushioning, good ankle support
Cons: rips easy, soles wear out, laces break easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best skate shoes so far!

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Massachusetts
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Had them all summer and there still pretty good had holding up strong
Pros: long lasting soles, good board feel, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: laces break easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

toughest vans skate shoe around

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Melbourne, Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These bad boys are the thickest, toughest leather skate shoe that I have found out there. Soles are extra grippy even when worn down to your toe!
Its a more advanced skate shoe for the tougher rider on a skateboard.
Built to last!
Pros: long lasting soles, looks great, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

good stuff

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Australia
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
Don't bother buying the regular half cabs, they feel apart on the first day. The pro cabs are way better.
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, durable, good ankle support, comfortable
Cons: poor cushioning
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

beast

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
from New Jersey,NJ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
its alright
bulky
vulcanized
good board feel
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Quality Shoe

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
from East Brookfield, MA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love the Vans Half Cabs, they are comfortable. I wear them everyday. They are a good skate shoe. The mid top helps with ankle support for skating and other activities.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, comfortable
Cons: sole loses grip, rips easy, poor grip, laces break easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Seems to run bigger than most vans

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Mantana
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
6 / 5
6 / 5
Shoul size down a half-size
Besides that , awesome shoe
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, cool colors, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, but doesnt last long

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
from Austin, TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
These shoes are pretty good for bowl skating and beginner-intermediate skaters, because these rip pretty quickly and the soles wear down quick, so i would only buy them if u like vert and tranny cuz they just fall apart on street and flat, but they do look cool and if i were u just go but the p. rod 5 there amazing
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, stylish, comfortable, good grip
Cons: soles wear out, rips easy, laces break easily, non-durable
 
My product recommendations
P.Rod by Nike SB P.Rod 5 - Men's
4.7 out of 5(44)
 
 
 
Emerica Hsu 2 Low - Men's
4.5 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
Emerica Hsu Low - Men's
3.8 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
This shoe is seriously comfortable. Nuff said.
Perfect.
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good, but could be better

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from NZ
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First things first, the shoes looks great, super stylish. Then you put them on and they feel as good as they look, super comfy (the Waffle sole is great). Although they might seem great to start off with, pretty soon you'll realise that swade is turning green and the trim on the sole is falling off. Swade always gets dirty on any shoe if you ride/skate in it, so this is expect, but the trim (on the Super Tuff version I might add) started to peel off within a week. Another issue I had was the tongues of the shoes moving to the outside of my feet while in use, this didn't affect comfort though. Overall the shoes feel awesome and hug your feet well, and they look nice to begin with, but they lack in durability so end up looking tatty pretty quickly.
Pros: breaks in easy, cool colors, stylish, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: non-durable, poor cushioning, trim is useless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Keller, Tx
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ive skated 3 pairs of these shoes n theyr prolly the best shoes, especially for the price, that I've skated. The mid top has a lil ankle support but still enough freedom, I lovethe waffle grip, they last a little longer than sum other shoes (again especially for the price) And theyr pretty comfortable especially when worn out a lil. The only problem is that on all 3 pairs the sticking gives out pretty quick on the vamp and that can make a big hole on top if it comes off completely
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good ankle support, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: rips easy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
These shoes are really comfortable and they've lasted me a few monthes longer then most of my shoes usually do. My pair is still what im currently skating, the only downside was that the sole wore down quick on my flicking foot (mostly my fault for stopping with my toes). Id reccomend these shoes to people who have a hard time with their toe of their shoes, the super seude is a really good idea. Im thinking the Era Pros will be my next choice.
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: soles wear out
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

These shoes without a doubt are a cult classic!

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Naples,Florida
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
6 / 5
6 / 5
Ever since my first pair, I've always admired the quality and comfort of these Half-Cabs. Not to mention the great design! I always am assured my ankles are safe when skating in these. I have to say these are my favorite skate shoe of all time!
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip, classic
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best all around skate shoe!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Rhode Island
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
Whether you skate bowls, ramps or street Half Cab's are great!
Excellent board feel and board control.
Great grip. The Half Cab Pros have more padding which is more comfy than the originals.
Toe cap stiching rips easy if you do alot of flip or ollie tricks.
Pros: breaks in easy, long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, stylish, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, sole keeps grip a long time, comfortable, good grip
Cons: toecap stitching rips
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
duruble good bed cool looks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vans Half Cab Pro - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
These shoes are amazing. I've used them alot and no scratches and the shoes laces still look new
Pros: doesn't rip, durable, laces don't break, comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>