Customer Reviews for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck

Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck

7.5 x 31.63 After years of testing by Alien Workshop team riders and staff, X-Band construction is now available to the public. Utilizing the natural strength of wood grain, X-Band decks feature cross plys with the grain running at opposing 45 degree angles. The strength obtained from this unconventional grain configuration allows us to make the deck thinner and lighter than a standard 7-ply deck while increasing the rigidity and pop. Click here to view Tech Sheet.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(66 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
2
56 out of 66(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Review 1 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Overall great board

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
BannanaMonkey
from Terra Haute, IN
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
Ive been riding this board for four months and it hasnt chipped or lost its pop yet. Ive taken it to many parks and it is the best board ive ridden yet.
Pros: lightweight, stylish, great pop, durable, cool graphics, great feel, good quality, doesn't chip
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deck

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
MarylandSK8ING
from Maryland
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
Great deck for riders who want great pop. Very stylish as well (looks the best with white trucks) with amazing concaves.
Pros: lightweight, looks great, stylish, great pop, durable, cool graphics, great feel, good quality, doesn't chip
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good.

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
AndyX
from Phila, PA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
The first thing you notice is the somewhat strange shape of the board, especially the tail, mellow concave. Not my style, but i could see it working for others. If you've skated AW before, then you know what I mean. Very strong, alot of pop.
Pros: great pop, durable
Cons: doesn't feel good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the best deck

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Thunder416
from Carlsbad, CA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
It has good shape and pop at first. Seems like the shape wears down as you skate it quickly. It chips super fast. It's very light though.
Pros: lightweight, looks great, stylish, great pop, cool graphics, great feel, good quality
Cons: chips easily, poor quality, non-durable
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jeddy
from Wisconsin
its a pretty good deck, good pop, chips pretty easily. but overall a good one.
Pros: lightweight, stylish, great pop, cool graphics
Cons: chips easily, non-durable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

this product is a lot of fun to skate

PostedJanuary 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
diego32
from Jacksonville, Fl
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:recreational
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great board all around. good pop, strong, and very durable
Pros: lightweight, great pop, durable, great feel
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Garbage

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
NateTheGreat698774
from TX
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This board is not worth it. Before i bought it I read some reveiws on it where people said that it had such great pop......and it has a little bit above average pop but not enough to make you amazingly good if thats what you were hoping also it will snap and chip easily. Also the graphics look nice but you can literately scratch off the graphic with your finger nail
Pros: lightweight, stylish, great pop
Cons: chips easily, limited terrain, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rstar
from Snohomish,WA
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I love the deck design. Stylish and has a good feel to it.
Pros: lightweight, great feel
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rob Dyr-deck's

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
OldSchoolSkater4Life
from Marinette, WI
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This isn't my first Alien Workshop board, it's my third. I skated a different Rob D. board called, "can't be bothered" and I liked it a lot. I snapped it in about 6 months, doing noseslides on a hubba. So, I decided to try an X-band next. It was the most I've ever paid for a board alone, but, it was lighter, had an awesome concave and nice pop....it was broken within a month. I thought these were supposed to be stronger? I'm 36 years old, weigh 175 pounds, and I still skate hard. I was surprised that a disaster slide on a flat rail would be what caused it's demise. I've got a 3 strikes and you're out rule with any company. So, I bought the exact same gold foil, x-band, 8"x32" soldier deck AGAIN. If it snaps on me before the end of summer, I'm switching to another brand.
Pros: lightweight, great pop, cool graphics
Cons: non-durable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding!

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChiefKlein
from Cincinnati, OH
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:beginner
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first board and it lived up to expectations. The board felt great, there are no cracks, NO RAZOR EDGES, and the concave is suitable (medium). The deck has a good weight, good pop, and the graphic rocks. People always comment on it (in a positive way). Definitely want to buy another AWS deck.
Pros: all terrain, lightweight, looks great, stylish, great pop, durable, cool graphics, great feel, doesn't chip
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing feel

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
chrisbarker1125
from lake city, fl
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
i bought it 6 months ago and still feels like its brand new. the picture wore away fast but that's really the only bad thing i can say about it. it hasn't chipped hasn't broke and hasn't lost its feel. i have gotten it wet every now and then and hasn't gained any wait or got water logged.
Pros: lightweight, looks great, stylish, great pop, durable, cool graphics, great feel, doesn't chip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steak
from Fargo, ND
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This board feels a little different than other boards. i'm still getting used to the shape/feel. The board isn't as concave as i would like it to be but has decent pop.
Pros: stylish, durable
Cons: doesn't feel good, a little heavy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

PostedMay 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
asdfghjukjhgf
from Virginia
Had this for a couple of months. Really good pop. Would defiantly buy another Alien Workshop! :D
Pros: looks great, stylish, great pop, cool graphics
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Great Read!!

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
littledt4
from Fleming Island, FL
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This is the best deck I have ever bought!! First off it is light!! Super light it also has a butt load of pop!!! When I got my deck and put everything on it and went outside and tried it and I had the highest ollie I have ever done!! So I really recommend this deck!!! Also it doesn't get razor tail easily!!
Pros: lightweight, looks great, stylish, great pop, durable, cool graphics, great feel, hard to razor tail!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedMarch 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
HelloBoss254
from New Jersey
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
I love this board but the bad thing is that the graphics come off so quickly. The first board slide you do the whole board design comes off. Also it loses its Jesus pop after awhile. But its still boss.
Pros: stylish, great pop, great feel, jesus pop
Cons: graphics come off to easy, loses its jesus pop after awhile
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Breaks Easily

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
RichardS
from Cary, NC
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
This board has a very uncomfortable shape to it and it snapped after 2 hours of skating. I would not recommend getting it.
Cons: doesn't feel good, non-durable
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not pleased.

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
gabeS
from Sherrill, NY
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I've had a decent amount of decks and this is by far the worst I've skated. Felt ugly, didn't like a thing about it. Also the only deck if ever snapped.
Cons: chips easily, less pop, doesn't feel good, non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not great

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
monster98
from illinois
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
this board is to stiff it looses pop withen 2 or 3 weeks just not a great board
Pros: looks great, stylish, cool graphics
Cons: chips easily
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You won't find a better board.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
amp1997
from Wildwood,MO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've tried baker, girl, and plan b, but this one topples them all, it has great concave, is perfect for learning different kinds of flips and shuvs, and has a nice slide. It's also pretty durable considering it lasted me well over 6 months of constant use. Hope you'll like the board as much as i did.
Pros: lightweight, looks great, stylish, great pop, durable, cool graphics, great feel, doesn't chip
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alien Workshop Dyrdek Soldier X Band Deck
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So nice someone stole it!

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
SkateboardingOrigionals
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:1-3 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:advanced
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had this board for two monthes before it got stolen, and it was still like new apart from the grind marks. The board feels good and its got nice concave and pop. Graphic looks clean.
Pros: all terrain, lightweight, looks great, stylish, great pop, durable, cool graphics, great feel, doesn't chip
Cons: so nice someone stole it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>