Customer Reviews for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's

Lakai Carroll Select - Men's

After a decade of amazing footwear, Lakai celebrates its 10 Year Anniversary with these new Carroll Selects. Suede/leather upper. Flexible vulcanized construction. Full-length shock absorbing insole. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.852 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
19 out of 27(70%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Review 1 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mid-top skate shoe

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
these shoes are comfortable, break in very well. They last longer than i expected, and the laces dont rip as much as im used to in other shoes. Had a problem with the fabric on the insole in one of the shoes starting to peel off, which was annoying, but other than that, no complaints.
Pros: runs true to size, comfortable, good ankle support
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome pick

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
from Manchester
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:competitive
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I'm really pleased with my purchase the shoes are very comfortable and great for skating. Good soles, lacing, and feel great!
Pros: long lasting soles, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, runs true to size, stylish, doesn't rip, durable, good cushioning, good ankle support, laces don't break, comfortable, good grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lakai Carroll

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
very small 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Extremely good shoes, really comfortable and last about 6 months. I didn't use them as skating shoes because all the other reviews say they get wrecked in a month, but all together great shoes.
Pros: looks great, stylish, good ankle support, comfortable
Cons: sole loses grip, soles wear out, laces break easily, non-durable, poor board feel, not enough colors
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Carroll Selects

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
from mars
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These shoes are good until the grip wears down. But they feel pretty good though.
Pros: breaks in easy, looks great, good board feel, cool colors, stylish, durable, good ankle support, laces don't break, comfortable, good grip
Cons: sole loses grip, soles wear out, poor cushioning, kinda rips easy
 
My product recommendations
Emerica G-Code!!! - Men's
4.6 out of 5(123)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

O.K. for awhile, but not more than a month.

PostedApril 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
from Herndon, VA
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I got these shoes for my birthday, and they looked sick. They were very uncomfortable before broken in, and the sole was very thin. They ripped in about a week, and from that point they were terrible. The suede was not very durable, and the "heel pad" was very thin and hurt my feet. I would not recommend these shoes.
Pros: good board feel, stylish, good ankle support, good grip not for long though
Cons: uncomfortable, rips easy, soles wear out, laces break easily, non-durable, poor cushioning, does not break in quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fair

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Worcester
Lakai never quite delivered my expectations as a skate shoe.
They are definately stylish, and they were fun to skate with unfortunately for only a short amount of time.
This shoe is vulcanized and stylish, thats just about all the pros I can think of.
The cons of the shoe is that it doesnt last , and the footbed is absolutely horrible. Almost everytime I skate off sets,gaps etc Id minorly bruise my heel or hurt my foot in some way.
Overall I do not recommend these lakais in particular.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not recommend!

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
super bad shoes and i only do ollies.only skated them for a month and they ripped a big hole in the bottom!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

these shoes are amazing.

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Atlanta, Ga
ive been reading all the other reviews, and from what ive seen, it seems like they have been written by people that have never skated these shoes. SERIOUSLY, these boards have the best board feel in the world. Its like skating on air. I didnt even feel my feet hitting the ground off of a 9 stair. these shoes do have flaws though. i mean, i skate everydayd. ive had these shoes for 3 months and i have yet to rip a hole where i flick. i have however gone through 7 pairs of laces, if that shows you anything. they do rip holes in the bottom pretty easily though. that i have to admit. overall though, these shoes are amazing. i learned all sorts of tricks in these shoes.
Pros: amazing board feel, feels like skating on air, dont rip easily in flick area, stylish
Cons: rip holes in bottom easily
 
My product recommendations
Lakai Manchester - Men's
4.4 out of 5(118)
 
 
 
Lakai Manchester Recycled - Men's
3.5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Mechanicville, NY
I had a pair not listed on the site, but they skated close to godliness...got them the same day my friend got the Fallen Forte and they lasted him a week the Lakais lasted a month and a half before i wrapped in in duct tape because the toe cap was destroyed (me skating Mob grip doesn't help!) but once the duct tape was applied the shoe was good as new for another 3 months
Cons: buy dut tape or they won' last as much as they roc
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Fort Wayne, IN
These shoes have to board feel what so ever. They are also very clucky and feel like im skating in boots. The shoes also some what thick which might be why they have no board feel. Dont get these shoes unless u like to skate in boots.
Pros: comfortable
Cons: lack of board feel, bulky, heavy
 
My product recommendations
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lakai Carroll

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
from Dalton, GA
Lakai Carroll Select are maybe one of the best shoes i have skated they have really good board feel and they are really comfortable.. These shoes waste kinda quick but they also skate awesome.. Maybe if you use shoe goo like i did they will last you a really good time.. Well these shoes are basically all you want in a shoe looks good skates good and is good..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Amazing

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
This shoe is a really fresh shoe to just walk around in. But for skating it has perfect board feel and perfect grip but it wears in 2 weeks unfortunately. The shock pads are also terrible for sets, they make the palms of my feet burn from them. I would only get these for just casual wear.
Cons: bad grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good shoe so far

PostedDecember 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Big Dickville, California
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
4 / 5
4 / 5
(click to see the video)
this shoe is great.. the gum sole dosent wear away like my friends did. but the tounge is medium sized and thee vulcanized rubber wears kinda fast. i have had these shoes for like 3 weeks and they are still doing great. Keep Skating!
Pros: good board feel, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, sexy
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

dont buy em

PostedDecember 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
these shoes have alot of board feel but they are not durable at all there good if you dont do alot of ollie's
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
............Better for bmx than skating............................
Pros: stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I give it a two for lasting two days

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Grand Junction, CO
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:less than a month ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
i';ve skated these shoes for two and a half weeks and they are already torn up and broken every which way! I just started skating so the only things i do are ollies off of ledges, and kickflips
Pros: stylish, comfortable
Cons: poor grip, poor board feel, non-durable
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoes

PostedNovember 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
these shoes are great i bought them a fiew months ago and im very satisfied they hold up great and the grip is always perfect they look good and theres a double stitched toe cap for no blowouts!if your not laced up in these i sugest u get a pair right now
Pros: good board feel, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

good

PostedNovember 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
comfy and stylish but the first day i skated them they started to rip
Pros: good board feel, stylish, comfortable, good grip
Cons: non-durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing shoes

PostedNovember 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:over 6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:participating in a sport
very small 
5 / 5
5 / 5
By far my favorite pair of shoes I have ever owned. Amazing grip and ankle support. Haven't had any problems with laces but the sole wears slightly faster than other lakais.
Pros: good board feel, stylish, durable, comfortable, good grip, best shoe ever made
Cons: sole wears away kinda fast
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lakai Carroll Select - Men's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good for wearing around, not skating.

PostedNovember 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
from Arkansas
I purchased this product for:myself
I purchased this product:3-6 months ago
The athletic skill level of the person using this product is:intermediate
This product is primarily used/worn for:casual wear
I bought these shoes a while back. I started skating them and i could tell that they weren't all that great for skating, but comfortable enough, i wore them. They are really wide and clunky. I couldn't really feel the board while skating in these. The tongue is way too large and pretty much the whole shoe is big. I recommend these if you want to be comfortable and look tight. I do NOT recommend these if you want to land some steezy three flips.
Pros: stylish, comfortable, good grip
Cons: poor board feel, big and clunky on your feet, huge tongue, hard to slide
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>